Posted by: ewepatty | June 8, 2008

Having quiet time

When you were young many times an adult would say to you, Let’s have quiet time. It was something most children hated to hear. Well this week, I got my chance to have a quiet time and I didn’t fight it. The grandchildren all went home. My dear Husband went with his parents to Oklahoma and I got to have quiet time. I have been able to do some things I wouldn’t have been able to do.

I got up early Thursday morning to go pick strawberries. I was afraid with all the heat that the berries would turn to mush. Off I went with my hat and water bottle in tow. You would think that 13 pounds of berries would have been enough from the field trip with the lambs. No I had to be greedy. All I could think of was all those berries going to waste in the field and it was my mission to rescue them. On my hands and knees looking like some kind of idiot I picked. All the other people were bending over, picking the juicy red berries, but I was making sure I found the best and juiciest. The only way to do that is up close and personal. Ok I wasn’t able to get up for a while.

I brought 10lbs home and proceeded to process them. Had no idea what to do with them. The Internet is so wonderful. Told me just what to do. After 15 containers in the freezer I felt like the strawberry freezer queen.

Responses

  1. Hi,
    I’m prowd of you for picking all those berries.
    So, your family thought you were missing, huh?
    Hope you are enjoying your quiet time. I think
    you deserve some. You could have made a quick trip to Illinois for a rest. Namely, Galesburg. We
    miss you. We are getting some rain here, and hot and humid. We hope to pick some berries this week. Well, take care.

    Love,
    Patsy

  2. You are a crazy woman with those strawberries!!! I can’t wait to come visit and make jam. Or pie. Or smoothies. Or strawberry shortcake. Mmmmm.
    Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

